Skip to content

Amanda, one of our cats, passed away on Saturday.

August 13, 2012

.

This is Amanda

Amanda

We found out that her kidney’s were going bad about Thanksgiving of last year. We were told that she wasn’t and wouldn’t be in any pain but there wasn’t really anything that could be done except take her home and.  So we adjusted her diet and dealt with it as best as we could. She couldn’t be operated on, even if we could afford it, because she was a feline leukemia carrier. She seemed to return to her ornery loving self and was acting fairly normal until about a month ago. She slowed up some and then last Tuesday she went off her feed and we started feeding her with a syringe and on Thursday she quit drinking water so we were giving her sub-Q ringers still hoping that she would pull out of it. She finally got so weak that she couldn’t eat and at 5:00 PM on Saturday Aug. 11,2012, she went to be with her daddy, and her brothers and sisters.

(Ok, I’ve got to pause a minute. I have the closing program of the Olympics on and they just did ‘Imagine’ with all those kids signing the song while Paul McCartney sang. Beautiful. Then the sculpture of his head at the end. Very, very touching. ‘Imagine’ was my brother’s (Mark) favorite song. He died in a house fire when he went back into the house the house to save his cats. He got most of them out but was found next to the bed and 2 kittens were under him. They were not alive either. That was in the fall of 1989, he was 30yrs. old. It didn’t surprise me that he went back to get the kittens. Well, enough of that. This is supposed to be about Amanda. But it’s my blog so I guess I can do what I want. :)

~~~~~~

Some of the pictures are a little fuzzy and some are before digital cameras. And these are the only ones that are scanned into the computer.

Here are Amanda’s Dad, Mom and brothers and sisters.

Tuffy

Tuffy was her Poppa. He was feral cat that hung around our house along with his mom and siblings. We named him Tuffy because when he was less than a year old he got caught in the fan blade of my car when I started it up one hot summer day in 1995. I heard a strange noise when I started it up so I shut it off to check things out. I didn’t see anything wrong with the engine but I saw some blood and fur on the fan belt and blade and saw a trail of blood going under my other car. I grabbed him and his right front leg was just dangling and bleeding. I grabbed a towel off the clothesline and wrapped it around it next to his body and put pressure to slow or stop the bleeding. Then went into the house, got Becky(wife) and tried to find a veterinarian that was open. It was Thursday and many were closed on Thursday afternoon. Like many businesses in the small town where we lived. We ended back at our house calling around until we found one that was open. When we got to the vet, by this time it had been about an hour since the accident, he checked him out and said the leg would have to come off. That was when he became a house cat and got his name. Eventually siblings came in also but ‘Momma Kitty’ wouldn’t let us get close to her. She did continue to hang around though. We found good homes for his siblings and he lived until 2007. For only having three legs he didn’t let anything stop him or slow him down. That guy could jump from the floor to the top the kitchen cabinets and barely scratch them. About 7ft. off the floor. He also groomed himself as good and better than the other cats that had both front legs. He was such a guy.

~~~~~

Punkin’

Punkin’ showed up as a little kitten in the winter of 1999 right after we moved to the house we had bought in July of the same year. She was probably about 4 months old. We didn’t get her spayed quick enough and by late June we had five more additions to the household. THE TERRORS!!!

Angel

Lucy

Chip

Dale

Punkin’ and Amanda

The last pic was taken about 3 weeks ago. They’re sleeping in my wheelchair. Momma has outlived all her babies.

Snuggles and Amanda

This was taken on Aug. 5, 2012. My wife took this while I was asleep. That’s the lump that Amanda is sleeping next to and Snuggles is sitting on my hip. This is 2 days before she stopped eating. She was a sweetheart. She liked to sleep on one of my shinbones. Sometimes one, sometimes draped over both of them. She was a good girl.

She was our Amanda Kitty, my Amanda Girl.

Well… I guess I’m done…and all cried out.

If you’ve made it this far, Thank You for reading my ramblings.

I’ll get back to my regular stuff later today.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 6:12 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about Amanda’s passing! I’ve just discovered that my cat Lucy has elevated kidney levels and it’s so difficult to figure out which path to take, given contradictory takes on what food is the best, and of course her own tastes and preferences. Thanks for sharing Amanda’s story as well. And I can’t imagine how rough it must have been to lose Mark. My best to you all…

    • August 14, 2012 1:34 am

      Thank you. Good luck with Lucy. How old is she? The problem with cat kidney problems is that by the time symptoms show up, they are usually very damaged. The diet can be tricky, since cats are meat eaters, but keep trying. We had to keep changing foods because her tastes would change. We found a vet that used homeopathic and conventional medicine. I think that’s why our cats that had feline leukemia lived years longer than expected. More mainstream vets are using homeopathic and acupuncture in recent years.

      • August 14, 2012 4:44 pm

        Lucy is 12. The vet seemed ambivalent about needing to put her on k/d food, which actually made me feel better in that I don’t feel he’s pushing a product, but I think your suggestion of finding someone who does both homeopathic and conventional medicine is a good one. What did you usually feed Amanda? I’d never heard of acupuncture for cats but have some friends for whom that really works, and hey, we’re all mammals.

      • August 15, 2012 11:40 am

        We fed her a combination of raw or lightly cooked meat. Mostly chicken (her favorite,light & dark), then pork, and beef third, especially liver. Fish she would eat anytime, low sodium canned salmon or tuna, and she would have eaten that all the time if we let her. We also kept some of the canned food around, Eukanuba MultiStage Renal, Purina Veterinary NF, and Hill’s Science Diet k/d, we rotated them as her tastes changed. Vitamins and minerals are important too. Potassium intake and phosphorus restriction may be needed. Here are a couple of sites that I have used. http://pets.webmd.com/cats/kidney-failure-uremia-treatment-cats and http://consciouscat.net/2011/10/17/kidney-failure-and-diet-in-cats/ . We’ve used this basic/base diet for 10-15 years and have had a couple cats live for about 2yrs. after diagnosis for crf. We didn’t really restrict protein, we fed a higher quality protein. When she let us. :) We also mixed up aloe vera juice with vanilla or unflavored yogurt for digestion and it seemed to stop urinary infections. Not saying it is for Lucy, just that it worked for us. Here is a site to find a homeopathic vet in your state. http://www.ahvma.org/ . Well I’ve rambled on long enough. I hope that this info might help or steer you on a path for Lucy. One more thing. Thanks for liking my posts. It means a lot to me. I have to get busy and get to my emails. Between Amanda and a couple of my chronic health problems that have reared their ugly head lately, I’ve fallen behind. I’ve miss reading the posts that I’m following. I follow some very good blogs. :)

      • August 15, 2012 11:52 am

        Please don’t apologize for rambling. I apologize for making you answer my questions! It’s really helpful to me (and to Lucy!) as we try and figure this out. Those sites look great and while every cat is different, it’s useful to know how others have tackled this. So thanks for sharing your knowledge, and I wish you the best with your own health issues as well!

      • August 15, 2012 12:14 pm

        Thank you for your good wishes. No need to apologize. I’m naturally long winded and if it helps, more the better. I get it honest from my Grandpa on my Mom’s side and my Dad. Loved to listen to them. Grandpa had some great stories about the depression, Grandpa and Grandma built their house themselves in the 30′s and lived in it until 1974 and Rapid City bought it from them for development. They made a killing. Then traveled all over the country visiting relatives for a few years. Dad was a truck driver and in the summer I rode with him when I wasn’t working. Great times. Ooops. :) Later.

  2. August 21, 2012 10:34 am

    Oh what beautiful cats! And what stories! Terrific, thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. We Finally Named Our New Kittens. « MrMaxPics
  2. We Finally Named Our New Kittens « Random Stuff55

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

