Skip to content

Oh my…I just watched Joe Bidens speech about grief and loss.

May 28, 2012

.

I know this has been posted all over the intertubes but I’m going to post it one more time.

It made me think about my Dad. Oddly enough his name is Joe too. He passed away in 1995 (age 59) from a heart defect that he had all his life but didn’t affect him until a year or so before a valve was replaced in late ’94’. He died from a bacterial infection in the same valve a few months later. He worked hard all his life and I remember that he very seldom saw a doctor. He worked almost up to the day he died. He was a semi-truck driver and went back to work about 2 months after the surgery. He was back in the hospital a couple of months later. He is actually my step-dad but I never thought of him that way. He was my Dad, my Father. My biologic dad was out of the picture when I was 4 or 5yrs. old. I wouldn’t even know what he looked like if it weren’t for a couple of old pics.

I think he met Mom in about 1959 or ’60’ and 3 kids didn’t scare him away and even added another sister and brother over the years. He was/is a great dad. Mom passed away in 2007. The fondest memories are being able to talk to her and how she liked it when I would come and get her just to drive around. Not a drive around the block. More like 100-200 miles. Sometimes my wife would come along or we would stop and get her friends to go along. It was fun.  I suppose that I could mention that I’m the oldest of 5 children and live in SW Ohio.

My wife’s Mom passed in 1980 so I didn’t know her and I didn’t get to know her Dad all that well but we got along. He passed in 2002.  We didn’t live that close so we didn’t see them much.

One of my brothers died in a fire in Nebraska in 1989. He was 30yrs. old. He had a troubled life with drugs and the law. The last time I saw him was in 1986.

I think I’m done now. The vid just got me thinking.

I feel a little better now.

If you made it this far thanks for reading my ramblings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

