Skip to content

A Wink To Neil Armstrong

September 1, 2012

.

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

This quote made me stop and think the first time I heard it. IMO it is a humbling thought. If only more people shared that perspective of the world maybe it would be a better place. But then, maybe that view can’t be appreciated unless you’ve  seen the earth from the distances that only a few have had the privilege of seeing it.

~

There was a television icon that passed away on August 23 that didn’t get quite the same fanfare as Mr. Armstrong but was an important part of some peoples lives that grew up with Sesame Street. I didn’t know who he was until my youngest sister and brother started watching and then later, my kids.

This photographer, Jayson, pays homage to both with a pretty cool picture. http://www.jaysonsphotography.com/blog/2012/08/1873/

“The first man on the moon died today, Neil Armstrong. Even though I was not around to witness his incredible accomplishment with Buzz Aldrin, I feel honored to have shared my birthday with this remarkable man. We will never forget the great joy you brought to this wonderful country, and your memorable quote. “That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.” We also lost another great man on August 23rd, Jerry Nelson who voiced Count Von Count on Sesame Street. To honor these wonderful men, I decided to create this tribute to them. Thank you both for being a positive inspiration to us all,and thank you for teaching us all how to count Jerry.”

~

Thanks for visiting.

I hope everyone has a good day.

~

I live about an hour away from the Neil Armstrong Museum, and at one time my parents had a time share at a campground in Wapakoneta, Ohio where the museum is. Have been to it several times, once as a visitor and a few times making deliveries.

Pretty cool place.

~

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

